Herpetological Symposium Hanover 2012

35th International Herpetological Symposium - July 25-28, 2012. Hanover, Maryland USA
Joseph Laszlo

Joseph Laszlo
(1935 - 1987)

The Joseph Laszlo Memorial Award

Many individuals were fortunate to have known the late Joseph Laszlo, long-term Superintendent of the Department of Reptiles at the San Antonio Zoo, San Antonio, Texas, who died on 14 November, 1987.

In recognition of his lifelong achievements in and contributions to herpetology, especially in herpetoculture, the International Herpetological Symposium, Inc. has bestowed an annual award in his name. The Joseph Laszlo Memorial award is presented to the speaker at the IHS meeting who has demonstrated that his or her work represents new and exciting views and advances in herpetology. For information on the interesting life of Joseph Laszlo, an obituary is published in Herpetological Review, 19,5-6 (1988).

The following individuals have received the Joseph Laszlo Memorial Award:

  • 1991 Seattle, WA - Richard Shine, Ph. D., University of Sydney, Australia
  • 1992 St. Louis, MO - Brian A. Kend
  • 1993 Miami, FL - Dr. Hans-George Horn, Germany
  • 1994 New Orleans, LA - Dante Fenolio/Michael Ready, Los Angeles, CA
  • 1995 Denver, CO - Ross M. Prazant, D.V.M./Phillipe DeVosjoli
  • 1996 San Antonio, TX - David Grow, Oklahoma City Zoo
  • 1997 Liberia, Costa Rica - Allen E. Anderson, Norwalk, Iowa
  • 1998 Cincinnati, OH - Harry Greene, University of California, Berkeley
  • 1999 San Diego, CA - Carlos H. Arevalo Gtez, Guadalajara Zoo
  • 2000 New Orleans, LA - Gregory C. Lepera, Jacksonville Zoological Gardens
  • 2001 Detroit, MI - Scott J. Stahl, DVM, DABVP-AVAIN, Eastern Exotic Veterinary Center, Fairfax, VA
  • 2002 St. Louis, MO - John Brueggen, General Curator, St. Augustine Alligator Farm, St. Augustine, FL
  • 2003 Houston, TX - Bill Love, Blue Chameleon Ventures, Alva, FL
  • 2004 Daytona Beach, FL - Dr. Stephen P. Mackessy, University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, CO
  • 2005 Phoenix, AZ - Dante Fenolio, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL
  • 2006 San Antonio, TX - Dr. David Lazcano Jr., Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo León, México
  • 2007 Toronto, Canada - Ray E. Ashton, Jr., Ashton Biodiversity Research & Preservation Inst., Newberry, FL
  • 2008 Nashville, TN - Wayne Hill, National Reptile Breeders' Expo, Winter Haven, FL
  • 2010 Tucson, AZ - Carl J. Franklin, University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington,TX
  • 2011 Forth Worth, TX - Alan Kardon, San Antonio Zoo, San Antonio, TX
FacebookYouTubeTwitterGoogle PlusInstagramLogo Conservation Networking


Forgot your password?

Register Now
3rd discovery of a new species during Exo Terra expedition